“I believe in a relatively equal society, supported by institutions that limit extremes of wealth and poverty. I believe in democracy, civil liberties, and the rule of law. That makes me a liberal, and I’m proud of it.”
― Paul Krugman

I wholeheartedly agree with this. Due to some of my conservative friends, I was afraid to say anything to contradict them. I thought since I was a Christian I had to disagree with whatever Barack Obama said or did, and disagree with liberals. But, I just couldn’t. As a young girl, I realize that people shouldn’t be denied rights that are beneficial later in life. In ten years American may wonder why we made such a big fuss over ACA or gay rights. One great friend of mine (I won’t post names for the sake of privacy) told me to stick to what I believe. My mother and plenty of others have told me that. But, it took me talking to her and another friend of mine, who is also very liberal, for me to finally put my foot down and say this is what I believe. Yes, I am a Christian. I love God, I love worshiping Him. Christ didn’t want his followers getting involved in politics, or anything of the sort. But, I am. Because God taught tolerance, not bigotry. God taught us to not judge. Yes, I am contradicting my own religion by getting involved. But I believe in what is better for people and making a change, in any way I can. Whether that is simply recycling, or doing what my mother tells me to. I may not make a big change, especially at 14, but I can contribute to a change. I am glad to consider myself a liberal, progressive, hipster, Christian left… and whatever names may come like “filthy liberal scum” and “stupid leftist”.

“I believe in a…

Leave a Reply

